Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Ziva Bakman-Flamhaft’

Our industrious WNBA-NYC members have been busy, as ever!  Take a look at what some of our members have been up to.

Ziva Bakman-Flamhaft has launched her new website, www.ziva-bakman-flamhaft.com. You can also go to www.war-widow.com, which features her book, War Widow, and other works.

Susannah Greenberg, WNBA-NYC Publicity Chair, will moderate a panel event on book publicity for self-published authors at Book Expo America’s uPublishU, at the Javits Center on Sunday, June 3 at 2:30 PM. Read more here.

Janice Harayda will speak about book reviews — the good, the bad, and the ugly — at the BEA Bloggers Conference panel, Monday, June 4. Janice runs One-Minute Book Reviews, which was recently named one of New Jersey’s best blogs by New Jersey Monthly and ranked among the Top 40 book blogs by blog-ranking services such as Technorati and Alexa Internet.

Enid Harlow will have a new story published in issue 23 of North Atlantic Review.

Fatima Shaik spoke on a panel called Creoles and Citizens: Being Afro-Creole in New Orleans, 1836-1921, at the Louisiana Historical Association. Fatima also read her short stories at Xavier University of Louisiana in April 2012.

Rachel Slaiman had an article published in Latin Trends Magazine, entitled, Are You a Starving Artist or an Aspiring Professional?  Which Term is Correct?  The Five O'Clock Follies

Theasa Tuohy will read from her new novel, Five O’Clock Follies, at the Prince Street Gallery, 530 W. 25th Street, 4th Floor, Wednesday, May 30. Public is invited. Gallery opens at 6 PM, reading is at 6:30 PM. Reception follows. (Five O’Clock Follies will be published on October 15th by Calliope Press.)

Skeleton Woman Mingmei Yip‘s latest novel, Skeleton Women, will come out in June, published by Kensington Books. In the vein of Angelina Jolie’s SALT and Lev Grossman’s The Magicians, Skeleton Women is the story of a singer/spy, a magician, and a gossip columnist scheming to survive the gang wars in the 1930’s lawless Shanghai. Find more information at www.mingmeiyip.com.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

This week, we’d like to introduce you to some of the newest members of the NYC chapter!

Amy Hill Hearth‘s first novel, Miss Dreamsville and the Collier County Women’s Literary Society, will be published by Atria/Simon&Schuster on November 6. Amy is the author or co-author of seven nonfiction books, including Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters’ First 100 Years, the New York Times bestseller turned Broadway play. Her 2008 book, ‘Strong Medicine’ Speaks, led to her volunteer role as the founding Board President of the Native American Advancement Corp.

Ziva Bakman-Flamhaft is a lecturer in Political Science at Queens College. She published Israel on the Road to Peace: Accepting the Unacceptable (HarperCollins, 1996) and articles on women and war, the Middle East, and related issues.  Ziva has recently completed her memoir War Widow, which she is trying to publish.  She shares her stories and opinions weekly on her blog Writer-etc.

Michael Weinstein is a member of the Publishing Executive Hall of Fame and has 35 years experience in production, manufacturing, content management and change management.  He is currently Production Director for Teachers College Press. He also writes a blog for Book Business Magazine (bookbusinessmag.com). Previously, he was Vice President, Global Content and Media Production for Cengage Learning. Prior to that he was Vice President of Production and Manufacturing for Oxford University Press, Pearson/Prentice Hall, Worth Publishers and HarperCollins.  In those capacities, he has been a leader in managing process and content for delivery in as many ways as possible.

Peggy Strack is a speech-language pathologist from Saratoga Springs, NY who has a passion for writing fiction. She has recently completed her first novel, My Shoes Don’t Fit.  She has a B. A. in Journalism from the State University of New York and a Masters Degree in Communication Disorders from The College of Saint Rose. Peggy is an avid reader and serves on the book of the year nomination committee for Saratoga Reads. She also has 25 years of professional writing experience. Relevant memberships include The Hudson Valley Writers Guild and Romance Writers of America. Family and fun are important to Peggy. She is married and has proudly launched her two sons into the professional world. Peggy maintains an active lifestyle that includes skiing, hiking, kayaking and traveling.

Read Full Post »